Falling on Deaf Ears

A mother's instinct is usually right. This is my story of the battles, the appointments, the snide comments and coming out the other side. Oh, and anything else to do with life.

Getting Answers

on October 1, 2012

English: Speech-Language Pathology

Although my son had now been referred, the end of the road was certainly not close.

Within a week or two, we had a letter from Speech and Language Therapy(SALT) saying that we were to call up to make an appointment. I duly did so and my son was seen by SALT within a month of the referral.

I waited patiently for Audiology, as he had also been referred there. A month went by, and we heard nothing. In that time, my son did seem to suffer a total hearing loss. It didn’t accompany a cold, but it was the week after mine and my fiance’s birthday party, where we had a live band. Again, I spoke to my friend with the deaf child, who said that more than a day or two was not a good sign. We went back to the doctors, saw a different doctor, who was going to refer him to Audiology. I said that there was no point, we were already waiting to hear from them. The doctor told us to not hold our breath.

Starting to feel stressed out, and wanting answers, I got the number for Audiology. I spoke to a lovely lady on reception, who hadn’t heard of my son. I called my GP surgery. They had referred him, at the same time as SALT. I called Audiology back. My son needed to be re-referred – referring for SALT and Audiology on one form was the problem. It seems the two disciplines don’t communicate very well. The lady at Audiology spoke to my GP Surgery, and it was all sorted. So I thought.

 

In the meantime, my son had his first SALT appointment. This was the start of the journey back to sanity. I was told that his speech was spot on for his age, but his understanding and comprehension needed further assessment. Phew! I was right. Something wasn’t quite right with my son. I wasn’t happy something was wrong, but I was happy now that I finally felt listened to.

 

It’s a strange feeling. When you want your child to be okay, but are convinced something is wrong, and finally you get told you are right. Being happy is not the right way to describe it. But we can’t change what is happening. Getting help was what we needed. And to get the right help, we needed answers.

Leave a Reply

