Falling on Deaf Ears

A mother's instinct is usually right. This is my story of the battles, the appointments, the snide comments and coming out the other side. Oh, and anything else to do with life.

Fast Forward

on September 20, 2012

release  229/365

My last post, I left you lingering in the past. When everything stopped. In fact, after Reception, not a lot happened. I accepted my fate of having a child I could not control when out and about. At home, he was as good as gold. But put him in a noisy environment, and it was hell. I may as well have not even tried. The teachers were having difficulties with him.

In Year 1, the teacher was fabulous. She would come to me, stressed after a day of teaching my son, who just ‘would not listen’. We tried everything. She moved him to the front of the class. We muddled through. We had no other choice.

In Year 2, there was pretty much more of the same, but after the first term, the teacher had decided to give up on him, calling him naughty, and saying he just does not listen. At one point, I was told that he was choosing not to listen.

Also in Year 2, we lost a pregnancy very early on. It was this awful time that someone shone a light for me. I found a group on Facebook, an off shoot of The Miscarriage Association. Myself and another woman who had suffered a loss were discussing our difficult children. We had a lot in common. Our boys had the same name and undiagnosed difficulties. We felt bad, thinking that as we couldn’t raise the child that we had, so we didn’t have the right to have another baby.

(Before I carry on, I will say that things are moving in a good direction for her now. Her son and her are getting help and she is pregnant again, and past 12 weeks.)

Whilst in the self-pity, someone popped up and helped us, saying we weren’t the awful parents we thought we were. I was told that it sounded like my son had Auditory Processing Disorder (APD). I read up on it, and it sounded very much like it. I found some sites, and some professionals, and the more I read and researched, the more I felt that my son had undiagnosed APD.

This all came to a head in January/February this year. And it went downhill from there, and only now am I coming out of it the other side.

2 responses to “Fast Forward

  1. Anj says:

    The child’s teacher should not have called them Naughty, this is not a positive attitude by the teacher. They should say that the things they do are not acceptaeble and explain why. If negative behaviour continues and you are working closely with parents then surely they should look at different ways that will get the child’s interest. When all area’s are covered and they are still not seeing any improvement then surely they should have proceedures in place, that will allow them to assess their behaviour and achiements and then proceed to other area’s. The yr1 one teacher should have passed all information on to the yr2 teacher. Why did she not carry on with the same stratagies an good work that the previous teacher started.

    I would like to say congratulations and all the best with this pregnancy

    • Ingrid says:

      The Y1 teacher didn’t need to pass the information on as they were job sharing……so Y2 teacher was aware of the problems! But no, she refused to work with me. I gave her tips that would be easy to implement, as advised by an Audiologist, but she just ignored them. It was a tough year in Y2. Thankfully, my son is doing much better so far this year.

Leave a Reply

