Falling on Deaf Ears

A mother's instinct is usually right. This is my story of the battles, the appointments, the snide comments and coming out the other side. Oh, and anything else to do with life.

Hello and Welcome

on September 18, 2012

Louise Bourgeois with her sculpture To Fall on...

Hello, and welcome to my new Blog.

Before we begin, for those who have not read about it, I will say why I have started ‘Falling on Deaf Ears’.

 

It is a place for me to put out there the experiences I have – and have had – as a mother of a child with difficulties. I thought it was Auditory Processing Disorder. It might still be. But I thought a lot of things.

 

The only thing I have been right about so far is that there is something not quite right with my child.

 

My child is a 7 year old boy. He is a typical boy in many respects. But I always knew he was different. We have had struggles for 5 years to get where we are now.

 

And where are we now? We are still on our journey. We are hoping and praying that there is a simple and quick fix, whilst being open to the possibilities it might be more permanent. We have a teacher who is being pro-active, and putting the boy on the Special Needs Register and writing and Individual Education Plan (IEP). We aren’t close to the end, but we might be closer than we think. All we know for certain, today, right now, is that the boy has Auditory Processing difficulties – cause unknown – and hearing difficulties in the right ear – cause unknown, but persistent glue ear being the most likely culprit right now.

 

I will be singing the praises of the National Deaf Children’s Society (NDCS) almost constantly, because without their support, I don’t think we would have gotten as far as we have.

 

And, just for good measure, I will be writing about everything else, to do with parenting and life, and school, and work (or lack of it). I will whinge, moan, scream and celebrate.

 

I also hope to offer comfort to others in a similar situation to me. Whatever the disability, however permanent, it is still a big shock. So feel free to share your experiences with me, and if you are brave enough, with the other readers.

 

So hello, and here is to a long lasting friendship.

Leave a Reply

